FullSizeRender(7)

IMG_0814

Today I have a fun & simple D.I.Y project for you! I was inspired by a pin I found on pinterest and decided to try it out for my own. Zach and I brought this mirror with us to CA not really knowing what we were going to do with it, but it worked out perfectly for this project! I hope you enjoy this super easy D.I.Y and that you will try it out for yourself; or just use it for merely inspiration! ๐Ÿ™‚

FullSizeRender(8)

IMG_0662

First off, you could do this project with either a mirror like this one or a frame. I did this project on a frame as well and it turned out super cute! So, either one works ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_0675Next, you will need paint…obviously ๐Ÿ™‚ You need two different colors for this project. I would suggest a neutral for one and a color for the other. I chose white and this light blue which matched the decor in our bedroom.

IMG_0676

You will also need painters tape and a foam brush or whichever brush you desire to paint with.

IMG_0678

FullSizeRender(9)

Put tape on the corner of the mirror or frame diagonally. Most frames will already have a diagonal line from where the wood meets so it’s pretty easy to tape if you just follow that line.

IMG_0683

My mirror had a raised outside edge to it that I decided to keep its natural finish so I taped that off as well.

IMG_0690

FullSizeRender(10)

Start painting! My mirror had a pretty smooth surface (which I should have sanded) so it took 3-4 coats. I would recommend sanding your frame if its smooth to make it easier to paint.

IMG_0707

IMG_0709

IMG_0721

IMG_0781

FullSizeRender(11)

Once your paint is dry you can go ahead and pull off the tape ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_0789

IMG_0791

FullSizeRender(12)

IMG_0807

Voilรก! The finished product ๐Ÿ™‚ I am so happy with the way it turned out and I can’t wait to hang it up in our bedroom!

IMG_0810

I have a few more D.I.Y projects to share with you on my blog so stay tuned!

FullSizeRender (8)

One thought on “DIY – Painted frame

Leave a Reply

