FullSizeRender(7)

IMG_0634

I am so excited to share this DIY project with all of you! It’s not as simple as my last project but it’s definitely doable πŸ™‚ All you really need is some simple sewing skills. Trust me, I am no seamstress whatsoever!

Anyways, I purchased these two placemats that were on sale for $1.00 from Target when Zach and I were engaged. After we got married they never really worked for our table as I only had two placemats and the table has 4 seats. I kept holding on to them because I thought they were pretty and I knew I could do some sort of project with them. Well, I finally found a use for them and I am absolutely in love! I hope you try this out as it can be an inexpensive way to have some cute throw pillows!

FullSizeRender(16)

IMG_0603

Β IMG_0606

First off, you need your placemats! They obviously need to be fabric placemats haha. Now my placemats had one piece of fabric on the front and was sewn to a different piece on the back. This type of placemat is perfect for this project, but I am sure if yours is just one piece (I hope this is making sense) you could purchase your own fabric to sew to the back of the mat/soon to be pillow.

IMG_0611

Next, you will need a basic pillow form. I found this one at Walmart for $5.00. The brand is Crafter’s Choice and you will need the 12 x 16 Rectangle.

IMG_0608

You will also need low loft quilters polyester batting. You need this for the pillow insert to help fill the placemat (a standard placemat size is 12 x 18 which is bigger than our pillow).

IMG_0609

You need basic thread the same color as the back of your placemat.

IMG_0617

Lastly, a needle!

P.S. you will also need scissors πŸ™‚

FullSizeRender(9)

IMG_0956

Flip your placemat over and cut the back piece of fabric right beside the seam. Be careful and make sure you are only cutting the back piece of fabric and not the front as well.

IMG_0961

IMG_0963

This is what it should look like once its cut. It should just be a slit in the back piece of the fabric.

FullSizeRender(10)

IMG_0973

Lay your batting out on the floor or whatever surface you are working on.

IMG_0977

Then place your pillow on the edge of the batting leaving around 2-3 inches of extra on one side (as pictured)

IMG_0978

Roll the pillow in the batting about 2 times

IMG_0979

IMG_0982

It should look like this when it’s done!

FullSizeRender(11)

IMG_0985

Cut the extra batting leaving 2-3 inches like you did on the other side

IMG_0986

FullSizeRender(17)

IMG_0988

Insert the pillow into the slit you made in your placemat. Be careful you don’t rip the fabric while doing this!

IMG_0991

FullSizeRender(18)

IMG_0993

Sew the opening! I just used a simple stitch…nothing fancy. Just make sure your stitches are close together!

IMG_0994

IMG_0995

IMG_1001

IMG_1002

FullSizeRender(12)

IMG_1008

IMG_1014

I am so happy with how they turned out and I hope you are inspired to try it out for yourself!

It’s almost the weekend! YAY! I hope you have a wonderful evening.

FullSizeRender (8)

2 thoughts on “DIY – Placemat Pillows

Leave a Reply

